Tag Archives: book worm

Masquerade, by Cyrus Parker

Title: Masquerade

Author: Cyrus Parker

Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing

Publishing Date: 7 May, 2019

Genre: Poetry

Format: E-Arc

Language: English

No. of pages:  178

Synopsis:

Non-binary poet Cyrus Parker returns with an all-new collection of poetry and prose dedicated to those struggling to find their own identity in a world that often forces one into the confines of what’s considered “socially acceptable.”
Divided into three parts and illustrated by Parker, masquerade grapples with topics such as the never-ending search for acceptance, gender identity, and relationships, and the struggle to recognize your own face after hiding behind another for so long.

My review:

I received a review copy from the publishers in return for an honest review. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.

I believe that including Poe’s lines in the very beginning is a brilliant stroke in itself. In hindsight, it really says a lot about the poetry the reader will be delving into as she flips the pages.

The poems deal with various topics such as abandonment, alcohol abuse, death, gender dysphoria, harassment, as well as intimate partner abuse, lost innocence, identity, chasing your dream, and the masks that people wear. Self-care also is explicitly stated by the poet to be practiced after reading the poems and it was real advice, because I did have to do it in the end. The reason behind this, I believe, is that the poems are so real and vivid and so reflective of our own lives that it is impossible for a reader not to find atleast a couple of poems with which she can absolutely relate. The poems are raw and poignant, and that furthers this cause.   Moreover, the illustrations also provide a nice yet related break.

Verdict:

I enjoyed the poems and I rate this collection a 4/5 stars!

About the reviewer:

Nayanika Saikia, is one of the foremost book reviewers from the North-east and Assam, and is also an admin for the official India bookstagram page on Instagram. She publishes her own reviews and recommendations for poetry, fiction, non-fiction etc. on her bookstagram account @pretty_little_bibliophile which won the NorthEast Creator Awards 2018, as well as in daily newspapers, online magazines etc.  She can be contacted at nayanikasaikia98@gmail.com .

Finding Esme, by Suzanne Crowley, Unboxing

Twelve-year-old Esme’s life changes when she discovers dinosaur bones on her family’s peach farm in Texas.

Fans of Wendy Maas and Lynda Mullaly Hunt will love this perfectly pitched story about friendship, family, and loss from Suzanne Crowley, the acclaimed author of The Very Ordered Existence of Merilee Marvelous.

After her grandfather died from a heart attack while driving his tractor, Esme has avoided returning to the spot where he lost his life. But when she follows her little brother, Bo, up the hill while chasing fireflies, she makes an incredible discovery—dinosaur bones peeking out from underneath the abandoned tractor.

Esme sees the bones as a message from her grandfather; a connection beyond the grave. But when word gets out that Peach Hollow Farm is hiding something valuable, reporters, researchers, and neighbors arrive in droves. Esme must find a way to understand who has her best interests at heart—especially as the memories of her grandfather begin to slip away.

So the things I found in this amazing box were:

  1. A beautiful turquoise coloured black ball-point pen, with Finding Esme inscribed in orange.
  2. Two amazing badges with the illustration from the book cover.
  3. A cute pin of the book cover!
  4. A soy candle, scented Peach, from Minneapolis Chandlery.
  5. Another soy candle, scented Fresh Cut Grass, from Minneapolis Chandlery, as well.
  6. A card from the author!
  7. Candies of course! Of various flavours as well!
  8. And last, but not the least, a beautiful hardcover edition of the book Finding Esme. And it was a signed copy as well!

I was absolutely delighted to unearth each item, just as Esme was, unearthing the dinosaur! I also loved reading this book, and my review is scheduled to be uploaded tomorrow evening in fact! So do click the follow button and like, to stay in tune to all my book reviews! But I also hope that you all will order your own copies as well! I totally loved reading this book!

The Godkiller, Swayam Singh Aujla, 2018

1542002951379.jpg
Title: The Godkiller
Author: Swayam Singh Aujla
Publisher: And All Publisher
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Pages: 338
 
Synopsis:
The struggle between Civilization, Nation and Tries is tearing the world apart. The Gods have gotten old; they cannot hold back the chaos any longer. The only hope for the people remains in founding a God of reason. And that requires the death of the old Gods of faith.
Who will kill the old Gods?
Who will stake the entire world in the pursuit of reason?
Who will be The Godkiller?
 
My review:
Prepare yourself for an epic journey! The Godkiller is undoubtedly a huge world of its own.
The Godkiller is the first in a series of books and with the first only being so full of events with a mind-blowing sequencing, one can only wonder how great the sequel will be.
The plot of this story, when taken into consideration, along with the protagonist, can be said to be a sort of bildungsroman. We see the hero of the story – Motherkiller, or rather, Stargazer, as he should be rightly called, grow from a baby unto his old age. This bildungsroman is not a traditional sense as we can say it covers his entire life story as opposed to only certain bits of it. Nonetheless, this use only enhances the entire story. The character development especially is something to be noted. We see Stargazer truly developing from a precocious child into an ambitious and clever young man. His love and sexual conquests are also worth reading about – each is a lesson on its own for him.
The author has also included dream-like sequences before the beginning of each chapter and from the reader’s perspective, this is quite enlightening. These sequences are also of significant importance because we see that these mark important moments is Stargazer’s life – these are important lessons that he learns.
The other characters are also well rounded and truly three-dimensional. The plot was compelling and truly addicting. Although I do think that this is a truly polarizing book – there will be many who will hate it, simply because it is no walk in the park; the author has kept it quite intellectual, but then again, there will be many who will love it. I personally loved it and look forward to the next book. I do think, however, that if one pulls through the first part, the rest will be a breeze; this is a story that ensnares one’s attention from the very beginning. The epic, although a low fantasy, has an amazing blend of politics and economics, governance and betrayals etc., in it that people are bound to love. It is an elaborate and an extensive world that is shown in the book, and the hierarchies are amazing to read about. A truly utopian dystopia has been presented.
The themes are really interesting too – we see war, friendships, the importance of kinship and so on. But most importantly, we see the reversal of science and religion into Civilization and Tribes respectively. It is very amazing to see how the author has actually used inspiration from the current times and situations into making this world where ‘Priests’ teach the Tribes about the wonders of science (and not religion!)
The writing style is good. The concepts are all well researched by the author. The editing has also been well done. But talking about the cover, it is simply W-O-W ! A truly aesthetic and appealing picture presented to the eye, The Godkiller is must-read.
 
Verdict:
This was a really enjoyable book. I rate this a 4.5/5 stars.